Oracle Certification Program Categories

Oracle Certified Associate:

The Oracle Certified Associate (OCA) credential is typically the first step toward achieving the flagship Oracle Certified Professional certification. The OCA credential ensures that the individual is equipped with fundamental skills, providing a strong foundation for supporting Oracle products. An OCA credential is available for several of today’s most in-demand technology job roles.

Oracle Certified Professional:

The Oracle Certified Professional (OCP) credential is the benchmark of professional skill and technical expertise required to manage, develop, or implement enterprise-wide databases, middleware, or applications. Increasingly, IT managers use the OCP credential to evaluate the qualifications of employees and job candidates.

Oracle Certified Master:

The Oracle Certified Master (OCM) credential recognizes the ultimate advanced level of skills, knowledge, and proven ability. These professionals are qualified to answer the most difficult questions and solve the most complex problems.

 Oracle Special Accreditation:

Oracle Certified Professionals can enhance their careers and certification status by earning an Oracle Special Accreditation—a formal recognition of proficiency in advanced areas related to specific technology skill sets. Candidates who pass a special accreditation exam will be formally recognized for their competency and will receive a special credential and certificate.

Oracle Certified Expert Program:

The Certified Expert program is a part of Oracle’s Certification Program which grants credentials that recognize competency in specific technologies, architectures or domains not currently covered in the path-based Certified Associate and Certified Professional certifications.

Some of the key features of Expert certifications are:

  1. Niche oriented – based upon specific products or technologies rather than broad job roles.
  2. Credentials are independent of the current OCA, OCP, OCM hierarchy.
  3. Typically comprises a single comprehensive exam, rather than a series of exams.
  4. Competencies falling under the umbrella of the Expert program may range from foundational skills to mastery of advanced technologies.
  5. May have prerequisites such as an online exam, previous certification or training course attendance.

Topics may include areas identified for certifications that do not fall within Oracle’s previously defined path-based certification model, but are valuable or essential skills that can and should be tested. Successful candidates will be awarded a special Expert Certification designation.

Oracle Certified Specialist:

The Oracle Certified Specialist branded credentials are typically foundation-level implementation-oriented certifications targeted at employees of current Oracle partners, employees of integrators seeking to become Oracle partners and individuals who plan to apply for work with Oracle-authorized partners. Additionally these certifications would be applicable to anyone who wishes to add credibility and broaden their skill sets on specific Oracle products.

Oracle Certified Specialist certification credentials validated essential knowledge and skills working with key Oracle products and can be important assets to individuals working on client implementations. In addition to the credibility that these certifications provide in some cases they may lead to higher-level or broader-level certifications from Oracle University.